ARRESTED FOR A THEFT CHARGE?
An arrest of theft may have a charge of petty, grand, robbery or burglary. The bail required will depend on the charge as well as other factors.
Theft and shoplifting are among the most commonly prosecuted crimes in Colorado. This charge is also known as commercial burglary. Shoplifting is the act of stealing property or merchandise from a retailer.
Colorado defines theft as the unlawful taking of another’s property. Petty theft or shoplifting charges are brought against an individual if the property in question has a value of $950 or less. May be committed in one of the following ways:
- False pretenses, or lying to obtain possession of the property
- Embezzlement, or stealing something entrusted to the individual
- Trickery, such as changing a price tag on merchandise, or
- Larceny, which is removing the property without the owner’s permission.
Bail amounts for shoplifting are usually low, although the bail amount can vary depending on the value of the goods stolen and whether or not the individual has prior convictions.
Grand theft may be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony. It is a charge that has to do with the theft of property, money or labor with a value exceeding $950. There are many exceptions to this, however, that can turn many cases of grand theft charge. For example, an individual may be charged with grand theft for stealing a car or firearm, regardless of the value of the property.
There is no specified bail amount for charges in Colorado. The bail amount will depend on whether the arrestee has a prior criminal record and whether it is charged as a felony or a misdemeanor.
Burglary, or “breaking and entering,” may be charged against an individual even if there is no evidence of forced entry. Colorado defines burglary as entering a structure with the intent to commit a theft.
Burglary may be in the first or second degree. Any burglary of an inhabited property is burglary in the first degree, while other burglary is in the second degree.
Robbery occurs when an individual uses force, fear, violence, or threats to take something from another person. Individuals may be charged with misdemeanor or felony robbery, depending on the situation.
A judge will decide the bail amount for a robbery case depending on the circumstances. Bail may be refused in some arrests, especially for first-time offenders.
The information contained in this website is for general information purposes only. Some of the crimes and information may not apply to your city or state.