POSSESSION OF A FIREARM
Carrying a concealed firearm or being in possession of an illegal weapon in Colorado can lead to a weapons or firearms charge. Colorado has very strict gun control laws and just being in possession of certain dangerous or deadly weapons can lead to serious felony charges.
The following offenses can lead to large fines, jail time, probation, or the loss of the right to possess a firearm in the future:
- Possession of an unlawful weapon
- Unlawful sales of firearms
- Assault with a deadly weapon
- Carrying a concealed weapon
COLORADO GUN LAWS
It is illegal to openly carry handguns, shotguns, or rifles in Colorado except on your own property, your place of business, or in your home. Individuals may carry a concealed weapon if they first obtain a concealed carry license.
According to Colorado Penal Code, individuals who are younger than 18, lack “good moral character,” and those who cannot show a “good cause” to carry a weapon are prohibited from carrying a weapon.
The penalty for illegally carrying a firearm in Colorado is a penalty of up to $1,000, and up to one year in jail, or both.
Colorado’s Felon With A Firearm Law prohibits convicted felons, narcotic drug addicts, and anyone convicted of specific misdemeanors like domestic violence from owning or acquiring a gun. Federal law also prohibits gun ownership to certain individuals including anyone under a court order for a stalking crime, illegal aliens, and anyone discharged from the military under dishonorable conditions. The penalty for being a felon with a firearm in Colorado is having gun rights revoked for at least ten years.
CARRYING A CONCEALED WEAPON
A carried weapon is any weapon that is in an individual’s possession or on their body. Concealment means that another person would ordinarily not have a view of the weapon. Having a weapon that is partially concealed or only concealed from a certain angle, is typically not enough to be convicted of carrying a concealed weapon.
The penalty for carrying a concealed weapon includes a fine of up to $1,000, six months in jail, or both.
Without aggravating circumstances, carrying a concealed weapon is a misdemeanor. It becomes a felony if the individual has a prior felony conviction or any Colorado conviction for a firearm offense, the weapon is stolen and the individual knew or had reasonable cause to know, the individual is actively involved in a street gang, the individual does not lawfully possess the weapon, the individual is prohibited from owning a firearm, or the individual is prohibited from possessing a firearm due to committing or attempting to commit a violent offense.
A felon charge of carrying a concealed weapon is punishable by up to 16 months in jail and a maximum fine of $10,000.
CALL STAN THE BAIL MAN BAIL BONDS FOR 24 HR BAIL BONDS
If you or a loved one has been arrested for a firearms possession charge, contact Stan the Bail Man Bail Bonds immediately. We offer immediate bail bonds to get your loved one out of jail as fast as possible. Bail bonds through a bail bondsman are the most common way of getting someone out of jail for a firearms charge as bail can be very high. Our fee is a maximum of 10% of the bail amount. Call today with the inmate’s full name, where they are located, and the bail amount to get started.
The information contained in this website is for general information purposes only. Some of the crimes and information may not apply to your city or state.